Legally prescribed requirements

The law is multi-level and there are guidelines for its implementation

  • The law

    The law obligates the public sector and some private and third-sector operators to meet accessibility requirements. The law aims to promote the accessibility, quality, data security and content accessibility of digital services, thereby improving everyone’s ability to use digital services on an equal basis.

  • WCAG

    The legally prescribed accessibility requirements are based on the European standard. For the most part, the requirements are identical to those of the international WCAG 2.2 guidelines.

  • Public-sector websites and applications must meet the accessibility requirements as follows:

    New websites (including intranet and extranet implementations) by 23 September 2019
    Old services by 23 September 2020
    Mobile applications by 23 June 2021

  • Accessibility statement

    Digital services governed by the law must also provide an accessibility statement with the following details:

    Which parts of the content do not meet the accessibility requirements and why
    An account of alternatives for using any digital services that are not accessible
    How it can be reported to the organisation that its website or mobile application does not meet the requirements set
    Information about action that the client can take if they are not satisfied with the response they have received (legal protection method for accessibility)

Keep in mind! Several Finnish laws prompt or obligate operators to provide accessibility. For further information, see the ‘Other laws’ page.